Letter in Support of H.R. 5175

Dear Chairman Walden and Ranking Member Pallone:

The American Gas Association (AGA) and the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America (INGAA) are pleased to support the Pipeline and LNG Facility Cybersecurity Preparedness Act (H.R. 5175), pipeline sector cybersecurity legislation authored by Reps. Fred Upton (R-MI) and Dave Loebsack (D-IA).

AGA represents more than 200 local natural gas utilities that provide natural gas to more than 70 million customers. INGAA is comprised of 27 members, representing the vast majority of U.S. interstate natural gas transmission pipeline companies. Together, AGA and INGAA members operate nearly 2.5 million miles of pipelines delivering clean natural gas efficiently, safely and securely to customers nationwide.

Natural gas pipeline companies are acutely aware of increasing cybersecurity threats to pipeline operations and are committed to secure operations. Among numerous programs, our companies benefit from a senior executive cybersecurity focus, an industry commitment to cyber information sharing via the Downstream Natural Gas Information Sharing and Analysis Center (DNG-ISAC), and a cooperative security partnership with the federal government.

H.R. 5175 seeks to improve pipeline sector cybersecurity by specifying DOE authority to ensure energy system security is coordinated among government entities and the energy sector. Moreover, the bill also allows DOE to partner with industry to bolster cybersecurity response and recovery programs, develop new cybersecurity tools and technologies, and improve related workforce development. Given the cooperative posture between government and the pipeline sector on security matters, we also are pleased that H.R. 5175 does not seek to regulate pipeline sector security operations. Furthermore, we appreciate the Committee’s willingness to include language specifying that the bill does not modify the existing pipeline security authorities granted to other federal agencies. This clarification is critical to avoiding future jurisdictional conflicts.

AGA and INGAA appreciate working with the Committee to both improve and move the Pipeline and LNG Facility Cybersecurity Preparedness Act (H.R. 5175) forward. As the process proceeds, please forward any related inquiries to Brian Caudill (bcaudill@aga.org) with AGA and Martin Edwards (medwards@ingaa.org) with INGAA.


Dave McCurdy

President and CEO 

American Gas Association

Donald Santa

President and CEO

Interstate Natural Gas Association of America